Winter Wind

Release Date: March 6, 2012

0 Comments | Categories:

Winter Wind

11-Song CD/iTunes

from Light Rail Records

March 6, 2012

“I had a pretty fantastic childhood growing up around artists and musicians and being exposed to the best culture money can't buy, thanks to my parents. One of my best memories is sitting around a campfire with my parents and their friends and listening to my mom sing and play her guitar. The smell of wood burning in the iron pit. The smell of bourbon burning in throats. The glazed cheerful smiles on everyone's faces. My mom Bonnie has written and performed music that has always had a way of bringing people together and inspiring them. All this to say I am incredibly proud and pumped to let you all know that, after spending 25 years raising me and supporting me in so many invaluable ways (my Father too, especially the raising part. Zing!), my mama has FINALLY put out a new album of some of her greatest songs to date. If Marianne Faithful made a baby with Hank Williams and Edith Piaf jumped out of her grave to write a song about how in love with that baby she is, it would sound something like Bonnie Tamblyn's "Winter Wind". I am not writing this because she's my mom. I'm writing it because it's true and I believe in her music. Her album is on sale today so pick up a copy. You'll hear me on several of the tracks too. Congratulations, mom. You are a 60-something fox who can rock out with the best of them. The O.G. Ani Difranco. The goddess of all 12 strings.” ------Amber Tamblyn

Production Notes

• Basic tracks were recorded at f.Boo studios in Burbank, California in March 2011, with Keven Brennan engineering. Keven has worked with several major artists from Los Angeles and New Orleans, including Dr. John and drummer Jim Keltner. (

• The CD was produced by Bonnie Murray Tamblyn, Amber Tamblyn and Rick Huhnkeon. Final mixes, again with Keven engineering, were completed in October 2011, and mastered by Joe Gastwirt. All songs were composed by Bonnie Murray Tamblyn.

• The musicians consisted of Bonnie's long-time drummer, Bill Brumback, and Los Angeles-based John Albert on bass. Guitar, mandolin, and keyboard duties were handled by Rick Huhnke who also assisted with production and arrangements.

• Additional instrumentation was provided by J'Anna Jacoby on violin (Rod Stewart), Dino Soldo on chromatic harmonica (Leonard Cohen, Lionel Richie), percussionist Davey Chegwidden (Rhythm Roots All-Stars), Dan Hastie (Orgone) on piano, Keven Brennan on Soprano Sax, Jesse Nolan and Robin Brennan on background vocals. The recording was also a family affair with Bonnie's daughter Amber and husband Russ contributing vocals.

Purchase the album today on CD Baby at

Album Tracks

  • Winter Wind (Big Wind)

  • Dixie Doo Dah

  • Buy Now